Congress allocates portfolios to its new ministers in Karnataka

Bengaluru, Dec 28 (IANS) Alliance partner Congress in the Karnataka coalition government allocated portfolios to its eight new cabinet ministers, a party official said on Friday.

“Our party’s state in-charge K.C. Venugopal has sent a letter to Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy, listing the portfolios allocated to the new ministers by party president Rahul Gandhi on Thursday,” the official said in a statement.

State Governor Vajubhai Vala administered the oath here on Saturday to all the eight ministers, including two, replacing two other Congress ministers, dropped from the cabinet on the advice of the party leadership.

Some of the portfolios allocated to the new minsters include those held by a few of the 13 Congress ministers since their induction on June 6 after the coalition government was formed on May 23.

“Senior minister M.B. Patil has been given the Home portfolio, held by Deputy Chief Minister G. Parameshwara,” said the official.

Patil from Babaleshwar assembly segment in Vijayapura district, was Water Resources Minister in the previous Congress government of Siddaramaiah, who is the party’s legislature leader in the 225-member hung assembly.

Parameshwara will continue to hold the posts of Bengaluru Development, IT & BT, Science & Technology, Parliamentary Affairs & Legislation, Law and Justice & Human Rights.

Satish Jarkiholi, who replaced his elder brother Ramesh Jarkiholi in the ministry re-shuffle, has been given the Forest, Ecology and Environment post.

E Tukaram got Medical Education from Health and Family Welfare, held by D.K. Shivakumar along with water Resources, Major & Medium Irrigation from water resources, Kannada & Culture, Information & Public Relations.

C.S. Shivalli has been given Municipalities, which was held by Ramesh.

M.T.B Nagaraj is allocated Housing, held by U.T. Khader with Urban Development.

Rahim Khan Youth Empowerment & Sports; R.B. Timmapur Port & Inland Transport & Sugar and P.T. Parameshwar Naik allocated Muzrai (endowments), Skill Development, Livelihood and Entrepreneurship.

Krishna Byre Gowda, who held Law & Parliamentary Affairs along with Rural Development & Panchayat Raj, retains the latter posts, as the former 2 posts have been allocated to Parameshwara.

Of the eight ministers, seven are from the state’s northern region.

The Congress has filled the six vacancies in its share of 22 cabinet posts, including the Deputy Chief Minister’s and replaced two ministers (Ramesh and Shankar who held the Forests portfolio).

In the 34-member ministry, the JD-S has 10 posts, including the chief minister and has 2 vacancies in the cabinet.

In the 125-member legislative assembly, including one nominated, the Congress has 80 legislators, JD-S 36 and BJP 104,while the remaining are Independents and other parties like the BSP.



You cannot copy content of this page