Thailand name squad for their maiden Women’s T20 World Cup

Dubai, Jan 29 (IANS) Sornnarin Tippoch will lead an experienced 15-member Thailand squad in their first appearance at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in Australia next month.

Thailand have kept faith in most of the players who won them qualification in the event in Scotland last year according to an ICC statement.

The additions are Thipatcha Puttawong and Suwanan Khiaoto. Both these players were part of their squad for the recent T20I quadrangular series in India, also featuring Bangladesh.

Arriya Yenyueak missed out from among those in the qualifier squad. Phannita Maya, who did not feature in the quadrangular series, has returned for the tournament.

The experience of Tippoch, alongside Nattaya Boochatham, the leading wicket-taker in T20Is last year, Naruemol Chaiwai, the leading run-scorer in T20Is last year, ICC Women’s Emerging Player of the Year Chanida Sutthiruang, and the guile of Suleeporn Laomi props up the squad.

Thailand are drawn alongside West Indies, South Africa, England and Pakistan in Group B. They will begin their campaign on February 22 in Perth, against West Indies.

The team, which enjoyed a record-breaking run of results in 2019, with 17 T20I wins in a row, prepared for their maiden appearance with camps and matches in India before travelling to Australia for more practice games.

Squad: Sornnarin Tippoch (c), Nattaya Boochatham, Wongpaka Liengprasert, Phannita Maya, Ratanaporn Padunglerd, Onnicha Kamchomphu, Naruemol Chaiwai, Chanida Sutthiruang, Nannapat Koncharoenkai, Soraya Lateh, Rosenanee Kanoh, Thipatcha Puttawong, Suleeporn Laomi, Natthakan Chantham, Suwanan Khiaoto



Share with: